Wed, October 22nd

CMJ: Bond Music Showcase: MOTHXR, Carousel, Heavenly Beat, Nicholas Nicolas and Argonau


Doors 9PM
Show 9:30PM
Advance Price $10
Door Price $15

Advanced online ticket sales stop at 5pm on day of show
If available, more tickets are available at door

CEG presents Bond Music CMJ Showcase: MOTHXR, Carousel, Heavenly Beat, Nicholas Nicolas and Argonaut & Wasp


M O T H X R is a four-piece formed in Brooklyn, NY, though the music is made where ever they meet. Traveling with minimal analog recording gear, they spent four weeks late 2013 recording an album between Los Angeles, Chicago and New York. City shape sound. Producer Jimmy Giannopoulos (Lolawolf, Reputante) and vocalist Penn Badgley, neighborhood friends for years in New York, waited patiently for a sound to manifest beyond their bond based upon an odd pop aesthetic. Bassist Darren Will (Rathborne) was always orbiting, always an obvious partner when the time came. The three finally decided to hole up in a little Bungalow in East LA in October 2013 to record for eight days without anything written, without expectation. Seeking a microphone, they found in the neighborhood one-time-Brooklynite and New Zealand ex-pat Simon Oscroft, who proved to be the guitarist they weren’t looking for. The spontaneous quartet recorded five songs in five days before taking a breath to see they had, in fact, started a band.





 Heavenly Beat

Heavenly Beat is the side project of Beach Fossils bassist John Pena. He began writing and performing under the moniker in late 2009, crafting dreamy electro-pop around his gentle vocals. The first Heavenly Beat release, the "Suday" single for Captured Tracks, arrived in 2011, followed by the "Faithless" single soon after. Pena began work on a Heavenly Beat album in 2012, resulting in "Talent", released that July. 
He left Beach Fossils soon after to focus on Heavenly Beat full-time and began work on a second album. After scrapping the results of sessions that took place in a real studio, Pena retreated to his house to record. Prominence, which featured Pena playing all the instruments aside from a few keyboard parts done by Daniel Schlett and Christian Barsi, was released by Captured Tracks in October of 2013. 


Nicholas Nicholas

Nicholas Nicholas is the hazy dark-pop project Brooklyn's Chris Masullo. Masullo self released his debut Comfort Falls in 2013 which was recognized by Portals Music as a "vaporeware take on a John Hughes film" and "a gem of lo-fi dream pop" by Decoder Magazine. Nicholas Nicholas' sophomore effort 'Wrong' was released on cassette via Miscreant Records in August of 2014. 


Argonaut & Wasp

Argonaut & Wasp spawned from the minds of songwriting and production duo Theo Klein and Trey Schibli in the fall of 2012. Since its inception, the duo has enlisted a full live band for touring and recording, including lead guitar player Kevin Whitehead, bassist Alec Donkin, and drummer Willoughby “The Shark” Morse. The group blends an innovative and ear-pleasing mix of house, funk, and indie rock to create the distinct sound that is A&W. argonaut&wasp has played alongside international acts such as Breton, Lemaitre, Griz, RAC, BadBadNotGood, Dan Deacon, Charlie 2na, Atmosphere, and Waka Flocka Flame.